The End Has Come: Becoming the Next Michelangelo

15825498484_17a69eecaa_b

  André van der KAAIJ via Compfight cc

To start, I am going to reflect about what my MLP has been like over these last two months.

In my first blog post, I commented about how I had never attempted to draw a human face before. I did have some high school art experience, however, and that was a big reason why I felt confident to pursue this project. During that first week, I decided to start simple and did a few sketches of  a basic human face, just to ensure that I had a general idea of face proportion and face symmetry.

image3

Next, I did some brushing up on the basic sketching skills that I learned in high school. Specifically, this included familiarizing myself with the different drawing pencils (see my favourite here), learning how to use blending stumps and doing a few blending exercises. Appropriately, I named this blog post “Getting the Tools in Place” because all these elements were essential for the rest of my MLP drawing journey. Check out my week two blog post here.

11148369_10152881833991381_1691842775792943874_o

Week three involved me taking a bold approach and attempting to draw the human eye. Looking back, perhaps drawing “The Window into the Soul” was a bit ambitious for first getting out of the gate, but it helped me gain an idea of the challenges I’d be facing in the future. Specifically, I had some trouble drawing the light reflections in the pupil but I was able to overcome this and draw some quality eyes. Check out my progress in this blog post.

Week four was definitely my least favourite week because it involved drawing perhaps one of the most unattractive parts of the face: the nose. It was around this part of my MLP that I thought that I chose the wrong subject to do my project on. It was also around this time that I learned that perseverance and patience are key! With this in mind, I was able to draw a few noses that were semi-respectable. Click here to read about why I had so much trouble with drawing noses.

image2

Next up, I drew lips. Out of all my lip creations, the one below was by far my favourite. Also, coincidentally (or not), it took the longest. This proved to me that, especially when drawing is concerned, the more time and effort you put into it, the better the result will be. Generally speaking, my lip-drawing weekend was a successful one.

image1

Week six was, again, a challenging one. Of course, in the grande scheme of things, everything is difficult when you are learning something new. But, most of the hair drawings that I attempted looked like cartoon characters’ hair. All I wanted to do was to draw a glorious Beyoncé hair-blowing-in-the-fan drawing (see a picture here), but it was harder than I thought. I am proud, however, of my progress and progress is all that we can ask for, right? Especially when we are trying out something new.

Week seven was a sort of “miscellaneous” week. I decided to catch up on a bunch of things that I thought would help improve my overall sketching skills. This included drawing different shapes of eyebrows, different head shapes, and the different perspectives that you can view a human face from. This week was a relatively easy one and so it helped me get ready for a big week of completing a few finished sketches of a human face (soon to come!).

image2-2

It is much easier to see how much progress I have made throughout these two months when it is laid out in one short blog post. It’s also made me reflect about how amazing it is that one can learn to do something completely new using only online resources like Youtube (check out my How-to-draw playlist here), Pinterest, DeviantArt and others. No matter one’s opinion about the use of technology in the classroom, one cannot deny the ability of technology to aide someone in the pursuit of something new. Besides online resources, I have also realized the importance of print resources and utilized a few of those in my MLP. Check out this vlog to hear about that.

Currently, I am working on drawing some finished human faces that I hope will look like the celebrities that I am actually trying to draw. That post, along with some final commentary about what this MLP has taught me, will be coming in the next couple of days.

If you could name one skill that your MLP has taught you so far, what would you say?

2 thoughts on “The End Has Come: Becoming the Next Michelangelo

  1. […] here. Or, if you want a short version, you can check out my summary of these last two months here. Also, all of the YouTube videos that I uploaded onto my different blog posts can be found on my […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

