Take Two: Getting the Tools in Place

2927409019_b6930af1f9 Chapendra via Compfight cc

Hello, everyone.

Another week has gone by and I am excited to show the progress I’ve made for my drawing major learning project. Because I do have some experience with drawing, I have enough background knowledge that I’ll be able to start drawing actual faces soon. But first, I need to refresh my drawing skills as I haven’t drawn since high school and there a few fundamental skills that I need to know. To start out, I refreshed my knowledge about drawing pencils.
11270244_10152881737686381_5960924472041793318_o

As you can see, I have six different drawing pencils. The difference in these types of pencils is the type of lead that they have in them. The “B” behind some of the numbers shown above stands for black and it is darker than the “H” pencils. Believe it or not, I never knew that before and I learned it here.  Through my work so far, I like to use the darker pencils because they blend more easily. The lead in “B” pencils are softer than those in the “H” pencils which is why the lead is easier to blend on paper. As you can see here, there are many more types of pencils than the ones that I have. But what I have will be good enough; even for advanced drawers, 6 pencils are enough.
10842355_10152881741666381_3927565449476574298_o

While looking up different techniques that I may have to use in the future for sketching faces, I came across this picture of Peter Dinklage. What I was impressed with here was the hatching and cross hatching techniques that the author used to give the face dimension. It was because of this that I decided I was going to do some work on these techniques. I used this video to help me get started on how to hatch and cross hatch. As you can see from my picture, the grade of my hatching and cross hatching gets lighter and lighter as the boxes go on. I thought this was important to incorporate because using different tones will be essential if I am to draw a realistic face – the shadows on people’s faces range from light to dark. This video was helpful in that it helped me figure out how to shade going light to dark which is not as easy as it looks.IMG_3704From these videos, I practiced hatching by drawing a few shapes. As you can see, the hatching gives them more dimension. For the square, I used a 4B pencil, as you may notice by the darker lines. For the cylinder, I used the “B” pencil. This type of experience will be useful in the future as I go on to drawing faces.

11312845_10152881737741381_2575366591382977567_o

Next, I just wanted to practice regular blending techniques. For these, I used my blending stumps to give the lead a smooth look. This video helped me become more familiar with blending stumps and how to use them. In particular, I was having trouble with excess lead being on my blending stump, leading to blotches on my paper, and so this video gave me tips of how to avoid that. Aside from the exercise that I did above, the video also briefly showed how to blend with a blending stump while drawing a face and so I will return to this video in the future as a reference. 11148369_10152881833991381_1691842775792943874_o

For the above picture, I used the technique chiaroscuro. I learned about chiaroscuro in high school and basically, it is about creating art by creating contrasts of light and dark. You can get a more in depth definition here. To create this piece, I copied this picture. I wanted to try this exercise out because it is an excellent way to improve your shading and blending techniques. In addition, it helps you pay attention to the different parts of an object that, while drawing, makes it realistic. For example, while drawing, you have to mimic the shadows and the highlights, or else the picture will not look real. Using proper technique is essential for every good drawer and so although it is the least fun to learn about, it is nevertheless important.

In addition to the different resources I used, I really enjoyed watching this video. The video went through a general overview of the types of pencils you can use and the different textures they can create. It will be a great resource to go back to in the future if I want to vary my drawing techniques.

That’s it for now! Next week, I’m going to start drawing eyes! I’m also planning on making a YouTube playlist for drawing. I’ll put the link up later. Any resources in particular that I should look at? Any drawers out there that have any good tips for drawing eyes?

3 thoughts on “Take Two: Getting the Tools in Place

  1. Wow! Your journey on drawing is so neat. I have always been fascinated by drawing as well, but never took the time to learn anything about it. I am so impressed with how that picture of the circle(ball) is so in depth. It’s amazing how you a circle can look so differently by using those techniques, you have inspired me to try it out for myself one day!

    Like

  2. […] Next, I did some brushing up on the basic sketching skills that I learned in high school. Specifically, this included familiarizing myself with the different drawing pencils (see my favourite here), learning how to use blending stumps and doing a few blending exercises. Appropriately, I named this blog post “Getting the Tools in Place” because all these elements were essential for the rest of my MLP drawing journey. Check out my week two blog post here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

