Introduction: The Beginning of the End

12656395665_a72efd8ecc
DimitraTzanos via Compfight cc

Hello, everyone!

I called this post “The Beginning of the End” because in addition to my flare for the dramatics, I’m hoping that this class is going to introduce me to a bunch of awesome learning tools and also help me develop a personal learning network. When I consider the direction that education is going today, I’m really struck by how much technology is being incorporated into the classroom and this, in my opinion, is great; it is important to include as many avenues as possible for student learning. Being a part of the generation in which the internet was first developed, I am, of course, a little tech savvy but from the couple of classes that we’ve already had, I’ve realized that I can learn much more. I’m excited to dedicate this Saturday afternoon processing everything that Katia said in Thursday’s class and get started on my learning project and on my Feedly. When we first had class on Tuesday, I was overwhelmed with all the different aspects of technology that Katia introduced but I’ve decided to embrace the challenge as I know this class is going to help me become a better teacher!

A little about me: My name is Kayla Henderson. You can follow me on Twitter @KaylaHenderson. I don’t tweet very much; in the past, I used Twitter more for the news rather than tweeting. But that’s going to change in the next couple of months! I come from Assiniboia and if you have a burning desire to know where that is, you can click here. I’m a little bit of a nerd – I like to read lots, I like sci-fi, fantasy movies, and I spend far too many Friday nights recovering from work in my bed on Netflix. I really love sports, but my teams always lose and that makes me sad. Again, that’s where the Netflix comes in. And chocolate, chocolate’s always good. I’m pretty outgoing and I love to talk to people! I’m excited to continue my degree in education and I can’t wait to make a difference in students’ lives.

I’m definitely excited to take this class and I’m hoping that at the end of it, I will have a bunch of great ideas of how to include technology in my lessons. Since I did transfer into education late, as you can see in my about page, I have not yet completed my pre-internship or my internship and so it’s great that I’m taking this class now as I’ve already gotten a glimpse into all the cool ways that technology can make learning easy and fun. Too often, students sit in their desk while listening to their teacher drone wah-wah-wah (thanks, Charlie Brown) and I think that, with technology, that can change. We’ve all heard it in our classes before, technology is having a major change in the way that education is implemented and it’s important that we, as future teachers, embrace this change.

Leave a Reply

